• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Staff to contract advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by randalf View Post
    I'd been a contractor running a limited company for about seven years then due to a contract cancellation and some personal reasons preventing me following the work out of the area I had to accept a staff job.

I've been doing the staff job now for a couple of years and I'm missing the contracting lifestyle so I have been making enquiries about the current state of play regarding IR35.

My understanding is that if I were to move from Staff to Contract within the same organisation then this would be considered a bad thing from the HMRC regards the risk category I would fall into.
    How on earth is changing the way you are paid and staying with your ex-employer living the contractor lifestyle?

I think your mail is actually asking about moving from staff to hidden permie.

If you want the contractor lifestyle you need to jack your job in and go be a proper contractor, not a hidden permie constantly looking over their shoulder for the world of trouble that will come their way if they get investigated.