• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Most tax-efficient option: living in rented or owned property in London?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
Collapse
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Most tax-efficient option: living in rented or owned property in London?

I am an IT contractor working in London during the week and own two properties, one outside of London (Surrey) which is my current ‘home’ address, and also a property I purchased in March in London.

I rent a property in London for the purpose of the business – of course, I can put this through the business as a tax-deductible expense. However, going forth, I am considering two options. Either:
    • Renting out my owned London property at around £1600 per month. The mortgage payments are £1204 per month, the interest currently being approximately £930 of this. I would then continue to rent (currently £1473 per month) claiming this as a business expense.