• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice on Dissolution

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on Dissolution

Hello,

I would be very grateful for any advice on my particular situation.

Before I start, I know that I am a moron and I know I have got myself into this situation. I just want to fix it.

I started trading through a limited company in September 2010. I work in IT and I originally worked as a contractor for a client. I also took up projects through my limited company. My contract with the client finished in August 2011 and since then I haven't had many other projects coming in either. During this period, I managed to find myself a permanent position (considerably less pay than when I was contracting) and I also managed to take out nearly 24000 GBP from my business account as a director loan. Now I am liable for Corporation Tax of 21000 for that period and an additional 6000 as a deposit on my director's loan. As it has come to pass I do not have enough funds to pay the entire Corporation Tax. I can just about pay half of it now though I have two projects which are due in the next 90 days which would cover the other half.

I have approached my bank for a loan but my application was declined as they haven't seen any income coming into my business account over the last 10 months. I have tried applying for a personal loan but that got turned down as well.

Ideally I would like to pay my CT and close my company. I do not owe any other monies to anyone else and my VAT is up to date.