• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 in a contract with agency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 in a contract with agency

Hi

I am new to world of contracts so this may seem as a silly question but I need someone's help.

The agency that found a contract role for me put a clause in the contract in which I confirm I am within IR35 and that my business is a personal service company which is compliant in all respects with the IR35 Legislation.

Does it make from an agency perspective any difference as to whether I am or I am not within IR35? I would rather not state this in the contract and argue my case with HRMC directly. Can an agency impose such a statement on me?

Thanks

Jo

Hi Jo,

This isn't a silly question at all, it's an alarming one.

This is a very new development and has no place in a contract.

I would contact Bauer & Cotterall who will review the contract and negotiate that clause out of the contract. If this is your 1st contract I would rely on someone who knows a dodgy contract when they see one.

It will cost you but many of us do this anyway.

Also go to the PCG website and join up with them, they have a legal helpline should you want to talk to someone about this.
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Originally posted by joanna View Post