• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Spanish Ltd company, UK resident (< or >180 days)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Spanish Ltd company, UK resident (< or >180 days)

Hi,

Having spent the last 6 years as a Spanish Tax resident, I'm returning to the UK, possibly permanently - I'm a British national and my wife is Spanish.

I contract for UK companies through my own Spanish limited company (est. 4 years ago), and currently spend under 90 days in the UK. My wife has recently become 49% shareholder in the company, and can spend up to 180 days in the UK without becoming personally liable for UK tax.

The salary paid to me by my company is around £2,500 pcm. Here are the options I see available - are they realistic? Is my Spanish limited company safe from the HMRC?:

Option 1
    spend up to 180 days in the UK (becoming UK tax resident), pay myself £2,000 pcm (taxable in the UK) and dividends could be paid to my wife (Spanish tax resident). Keep the Spanish limited company - as far as the UK is concerned I'm a UK national, employed by a Spanish company. My wife receives dividends in Spain, the Spanish limited company is out of UK jurisdiction. Pay living expenses from the Spanish limited company.

Option 2
    spend over 180 days in the UK (becoming UK tax resident), pay myself £3,000 pcm. No dividends are paid to my wife (she would spend >180 days here and be a UK tax resident). Pay much greater living expenses from the Spanish limited company.

The questions are: