• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Maternity pay as a limited company - query

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Maternity pay as a limited company - query

Hello,

My partner is currently looking at becoming a contractor and like me is a total newb. We are currently trying to understand how maternity cover works for a contractor working as part of their own limited company. We have done some research but are very confused by it all. So...

1) Will she be eligible for maternity pay?
    2) If so, how does it work? We've stumbled across 'SMP ' on a few sites
    3) Where does the money come from? Is the government paying or will it be funded from her own limited company

Assume we are not too knowledgeable so explanations 'for dummies' would be much welcomed

Thank you in advance for your help!

In haste:

1 - more than likely yes, if not maternity benefit which is similar but not taxable.

2 - SMP is a scheme to ensure employers pay their staff for a period of maternity. Remember your wife is a employee of her Company, ergo the scheme applies to her.

Best source of info is direct.gov

Statutory Maternity Pay : Directgov - Money, tax and benefits

Put simply its pay for 39 weeks. 6 weeks at 90% salary, 33 weeks at lower of 90% salary and £135

In this context, salary is what your wife pays herself as salary from her company, it isn't, of courses, her contract income. And it's salary only, not dividends.