• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Voluntary Liquidation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Voluntary Liquidation

Hello everyone,
    I've been contracting for 3 years and I am looking to go into voluntary liquidation as I am changing the nature of my contract work, going from consultancy to design and after I go into design, I'll be selling my own products (on a small scale) and selling my services to more clients. I'm in fashion.
    Would a change of my contact work be sufficient to convince HMRC that it's a legitimate reason for liquidation, and not because of anything dodgy.
    I do have an accountant, but I'm keen to hear from more people.
    Thank you!

Originally posted by Isobel1988 View Post
    Hello everyone,
    I've been contracting for 3 years and I am looking to go into voluntary liquidation as I am changing the nature of my contract work, going from consultancy to design and after I go into design, I'll be selling my own products (on a small scale) and selling my services to more clients. I'm in fashion.
    Would a change of my contact work be sufficient to convince HMRC that it's a legitimate reason for liquidation, and not because of anything dodgy.
    Thank you!
    Just dont file an annual return and dont submit accounts - The company will be struck off by HMRC for free

Comment

Hello everyone,
      Thank you!
      Listen to your accountant.

You're just closing the company down (?) and, providing all taxes are accounted for and paid, hmrc should have no reason to object.