• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Accounting Terminology

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Accounting Terminology

Hi there
    Was wondering if somone could help me.
    Im completely new to contracting - and i am currently getting to grips with getting my books in order.
    Ive just signed up with Clearbooks and i am in the process of importing all my sales/purchases.

Im struggling to determine which categories the following purchases need to be allocated to. Can someone help me?

Purchases:
    - Fuel for vehicle.
    - Cofee paid for during business meeting.

Categories Available:
    - Cost of sales
    - Cost of sales
    - labour
    - materials
    - CIS labour cost (20%)
    - Other income
    - Reclaimed expenses
    - Administrative Expences
    - Salaries
    - PAYE
    - Employees NIC
    - Employers NIC
    - Pension
    - Rent and Rates
    - Heat and lighting
    - Insurance
    - Telephone
    - Internet
    - General Admin
    - Subscriptions
    - Printing and Stationary
    - Cleaning
    - Postage Packaging
    - Travel
    - Mileage
    - Subsistance
    - Advertising
    - Marketing
    - Accounting Fees
    - Legal Fees
    - Entertaining Staff
    - Entertaning Client
    - Operating Costs

Thanks i advance.
    SAP

Originally posted by sapsaint View Post
    Hi there
    Was wondering if somone could help me.
    Im completely new to contracting - and i am currently getting to grips with getting my books in order.