• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Subsistence - Exactly what can be claimed?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Subsistence - Exactly what can be claimed?

Hi all,

Apologies for asking this, I imagine it's not the first time. I have done a search and had a look through the results, but I'm after definitive answers.

I'm new to contracting and am currently applying for my first contract role. I've set up my limited company and have spoken to an accountant who I will use once I am earning. I don't want to bombard him with questions before I become a paying customer, but he has been very helpful up to this point.

Basically, I've just stumbled upon this word "subsistence" today. What exactly can you claim? Is it claimed directly from HMRC or the employer?

If, for instance, I took a contract in Leicester and I live in Leeds, would I be able to claim commuting mileage as subsistence? Could I rent a flat or pay a hotel to live near a contract and claim anything for that? How about lunches and so on?

Many thanks in advance for any help. Finding this whole world a bit daunting but already feeling very positive about taking these initial steps....

Originally posted by Jay Cartay View Post
    Hi all,

Apologies for asking this, I imagine it's not the first time. I have done a search and had a look through the results, but I'm after definitive answers.