• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Unpaid Invoices through Umbrella Company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unpaid Invoices through Umbrella Company

Hi,

I've been reading posts on here for a while to get tips and advice etc.. I'm pretty new to contracting.

Anyway, I'm having a problem with a previous contract. The contract was sourced directly (word of mouth) but everything is being handled by an umbrella company.

The digital agency I was working for are notoriously bad at paying invoices (I've heard stories ranging from months late, to not being paid at all, to freelancers having to threaten court action to get invoices cleared). There's quite a close-nit group of freelancers and contractors in the area and several have worked for this digital agency.

Whilst I was working there, they were always bad at paying invoices, they always required chasing up several times (I was doing this as the umbrella company didn't seem to be helping). During my time there though, there was always the threat that I would just stop working and not turn up - this route was used several times, and the result was getting the invoices paid straight away. They never have any reasons to not paying invoices, they're just a bit tardy - or like to hold the funds until the last possible moment.