• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

EU contractor in UK - taxes, legal, etc.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EU contractor in UK - taxes, legal, etc.

Hi,
    this question has been asked many times probably, but I can't find clear & simple answer...

I'm a IT contractor and I have a legal company registered in one of EU countries. It's a self-employment. I worked for few companies in EU. It was alway simple to charge them - just a invoice of:
    (daily rate * days worked) + VAT
    And I never needed to register ANYTHING in a country I was working in.

Now I'm going to start a contract in UK, and I can't find a clear answer for my question:
    Can I do a contracting exactly the same way ?

Detailed sub-questions:
    Do I need to register anything in UK ?
    Do I need to pay any taxes/insurance/blah-blah in UK ?
    Can I just use simple invoice of net+VAT for my money-flow ?
    Will a company accept my EU-VAT invoice without any problems ?

Thanks in advance for your answers !
    My studio: kemu Studio
    My site for calculating stuff: Calculla - online calculators and for managing time during work: Pomodorro

Originally posted by yosheeck View Post
    Hi,
    this question has been asked many times probably, but I can't find clear & simple answer...

I'm a IT contractor and I have a legal company registered in one of EU countries. It's a self-employment. I worked for few companies in EU. It was alway simple to charge them - just a invoice of:
    (daily rate * days worked) + VAT