• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie - validity in expensing CFA

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - validity in expensing CFA

Hi folks,

I am new to contracting having left my 'permie' job last month. I think I have a reasonable grounding in the fundamentals, and one of my questions below is rather specific to people consulting in the financial sector.

- I currently work in the Middle Office space on a trade floor and wish to enhance my current knowledge / skills in my current area. A great way of doing this is via the CFA curriculum. The problem with expensing this relates to the complete breadth of the course, in that it covers absolutely every area of portfolio management and finance / accounting. Most of it clearly isn't relevant to my job, and yet logically it is. Is this a valid expense? It's quite expensive and so the Corp Tax savings would be ideal.

- Assuming the answer to the bit above is yes, then would I be able to expense a pre-incorporation Level 1 exam? I took the exam 1.5 months ago and paid for it 6 months ago.

- Finally, off the topic listed in the subject, is there any benefit of favourable viewing by HMRC in paying myself a salary as a director? I have already reached my personal allowance threshold and so I understand there is no real saving to be had in improving tax efficiency, but I wondered if not paying a salary would cast suspicion. I used the search function but failed to come up with something exact.

Thanks all, I appreciate any time you take in form of a response.