• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Adding wife as an employee

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adding wife as an employee

Hi,
    I have been contracting for nearly 10 years (one man, ltd company). I got married last year and the wife hasn't been working. I am thinking of adding her as an employee to my company but have some worry. Over the years, I receive a lowish income (salary and dividend) from the company. The total income each year has been kept just under the higher rate tax band. So a considerable amount of cash stayed in my company's account. My question is: if I split the income with my wife by giving her shares, will the tax man get very suspicious and target me given there is a lot of cash in my account and they would think the whole set up is purely for income shifting?

Someone suggested me to set up a new company with my wife and give her equal share, or make her the director and I work for her in the new company. This way it's harder for the tax man to claim I gift her my income. Is this a good idea?

If I do start a new company, I will have to make my current company dormant because if I close it and take all the money now, I will have to pay a big tax bill immediately. Is making it dormant a viable option? If I make the company dormant, will I still able to use the dormant company's fund to pay my pension?

Ian

PS I do have an accountant, but he doesn't seem to be able to give me convincing answers on this matter Where should I go to get a more authoritative answer?

Ian