• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Corporate Taxation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Corporate Taxation

Dear Members,

I have been working as a contractor since 2010 and have my own UK LTD Company.
    My accountant has been doing the accounts since.

His fees are quite high and I really need to save money, so I would like to do the tax returns myself.

* Can I do the Corporate Tax Returns myself?
    * What things can I claim?

I'm a UK national, living and working in Belgium.

* If I have purchased a house and wish to convert 1 room to a Home Office, can I expense that?

* Does HMRC check all receipts? Do I need a receipt for everything? For example, my average fuel consumption is 86 euros/2 weeks. Sometimes its more, or less. Do I need to keep all these receipts?
    Thanks,
    Houma

How much do you think is high? From my research about 1000GBP PA (sorry on a US keyboard in Aus) seems to be the norm.

I'm using a local accountant though, for Wages, personal returns, corporation tax returns, annual accounts, filing with HMR&C and Companies House £545 + VAT. Ill be doing my own flat rate VAT returns (or the wife will to earn her keep), he quoted an extra 250 +VAT but its not that complicated TBH.

I don't think you can claim petrol per se but you can claim business mileage from the company at 45p per mile for the first 10K then 25p thereafter.

For your other questions google is your friend or in realily that's what your accountant is for. Bend his ear and make them work for their corn.

Good luck A.