• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Reimbursing backdated expenses after giving notice? Please help!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reimbursing backdated expenses after giving notice? Please help!

Hello Everyone,

I might have an issue with my umbrella company and would really appreciate any help or pointers.

I have been working for them for a few years. From my earnings as contractor they paid me a base salary and offered to do three things with the surplus: pay it immediately as a bonus, reimburse my expenses from it, or keep it in a "reserve" money pot from which they can continue to pay me when I am between projects. I used all of these options, depending on my situation in a given month, but now I served my notice with about £40K still sitting in the "reserve."

Now is when it gets interesting. I have incurred over £20K of legitimate accomodation expenses that I have not yet claimed, dating back to 2011. Which I expected to be reimbursed with my last payroll. But...

The umbrella company is now saying that some HMRC ruling stipulates that once you resign, you are no longer able to claim expenses. Even though these are the expenses from BEFORE when you gave notice.