• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client refuses to pay for services - help!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client refuses to pay for services - help!

Hello,

I am hoping someone can help me with a problem that I'm coming across for the first time. I am a designer, and recently provided some wedding stationery for a client. I have a bank of emails confirming they were happy with the original cost and further costs (when their amends went beyond the first set originally costed for).

After doing (what I hoped) was the final set of changes, and sending the design off to them - I received no response. Weeks went by, then months… I began to get concerned they had taken my artwork to a printers without paying me. I sent her an invoice for my services to date with still no response. I then sent a letter and the invoice to her parents (as theirs was the only address I had), asking for them to send this on to her so I could get an explanation and payment.

Eventually, today I received an email from her saying that she was not happy with the invite and so had decided to use another supplier and was not going to pay me for my services. She also said that we did 'not have a contract'.

Where do I stand on this? Surely email correspondence counts for something? Also can I get payment for the item even though she wasn't happy with it and chose not to use it?

The cost isn't substantial, so I'm unsure how far to push it… but it's upsetting and I feel really quite angry!

I hope someone can help me :-(