• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK resident, contracting in Denmark

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UK resident, contracting in Denmark

Hi,

First post, here goes. Forgive me if all this has been covered in a previous thread - I wanted to lay down my particular set of circumstances. I am also far from an expert in tax, and I've been visiting various sites and phoning helplines for about a week now and my brain is slightly frazzled

I’m planning a move to Denmark in September, where I will continue working remotely for my current employer (a uk based website who have no presence in Denmark). I will also be flying back to work in the UK offices for about 1 week in every month. In total, for the 2014/2015 UK tax year I will be spending at least 190 days (at midnight) in the UK. Whilst in Denmark, I will be living rent free with my girlfriend's parents, and my salary will be paid into my UK account.

Now I had all this fairly clear clear cut in my mind until about a week ago, when my employer told me that he would now prefer me to become a contractor and go down the umbrella company route.

I've spoken to one umbrella, and they've told me that they can't take me on because as soon as I arrive I'll be paying Danish tax at local rates. *from your handy guide on the right I've read about the 183 day rule not actually applying for local tax for contractors

So, couple of questions:

1. Wouldn't a double taxation agreement prevent me from paying tax in Denmark?