• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 Advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 Advice

Hi, I am a total rookie to the contracting world and I'm looking for some advice on my contract terms. I have set up as a limited company with business bank account etc.

I am currently working on my first contract with my previous permanent employer.

I'd like to remain outside of IR35 if possible and would appreciate some constructive input.

A little bit of background - The type of work that takes place is usually highly confidential. So my client's customers usually have confidentiality clauses and exclusivity clauses which limits the terms at which I can work. (I believe?) You will see below that they want me to sign a blanket contract to cover their legal needs with their customers the fixed period (approx 6 months). But are willing to agree, in separate following contracts on the specific jobs that will take place. (I assume that is so that there is no legal record of my company doing the specific confidential job, but allowing me to have some type of control over the jobs that I do)

So as I interpret the draft contract, the cons are:
    I am required to work from the offices which the client provides. (for confidentiality reasons)
    I am required to use the client's computer, email address and phone to do the work.(confidentitality)