• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client - Anti-Bribery and Corruption certification

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client - Anti-Bribery and Corruption certification

Hi all,

First time post. I'm a contractor working via a limited company. Current client has asked me to confirm that I've complied with client's 'anti-bribery and gifts policies' by signing a 'Anti-Bribery and Corruption certification'.

Client has insisted that this should be signed by full time employees and contractors. As I'm not an employee of the client, I don't see why I'd sign this. Furthermore, I'm wondering whether signing these kind of end-client policy documents would be problematic from a IR35 perspective.

Anyone working via a limited company been asked to sign one if these certifications by a client?

Many thanks

Yes - its come up in a couple of FS organisations I've done work at plus a compulsory online questionnaire at 1 place which tested knowledge of the act.

I really don't consider these kind of things IR35 indicators. The client has an obligation to make sure they can evidence everyone working for them is compliant and one man band contractors are a higher risk than the big consultancies with their own policies and procedures in place.

I used to worry about this sort of stuff when I first started contracting but now I just go into every job trying to evidence some of the bigger ticket items around MOO etc so hopefully I can head any potential HMRC investigation off early.

Comment