• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

interested to hear your thoughts in switching back from Ltd to umbrella

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

interested to hear your thoughts in switching back from Ltd to umbrella

hi fellow contractors
    I've been operating as a Ltd company for the past 6 years. I decided to take a break for a six months, kept the company going then moved to Scotland where I, more or less, committed career suicide. I am in the process of closing my company down - its been about four months since the process started and - you guess it - I have just been offered a contract.

I have heard from a few people on various forums that its sometimes not such a bad idea to close a company down to draw a line under it for IR35 reasons and start afresh. do you guys agrees? when the company closed I did not recieve and entrepreneurs relief as the company accounts were empty. I"ve just had my corporation tax bill and once paid, that'll be the end of it.

Would you guys recommend keeping my company going, starting a new company, or going with an umbrella for a wee while?

I'm not trying to do anything dodgy, nor do I want to bring myself to the attention of HMRC for appearing dodgy - i was just struggling for work, the accounts were getting empty and I was paying out for accountancy, which I would have needed to do anyway if I went dormant, so decided to close.

all replies greatfully recieved.

thank you