• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Raising Invoice for a Date before Company was formed

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Raising Invoice for a Date before Company was formed

Hello Experts,

I work as a freelancer and use an Umbrella company for my accounting needs. Last week I have floated my own Limited Company and in the course of the next two months or so I wish to start working through my own Limited Company.

I did a 2 day freelancing work in middle of July. The Limited Company was formed only in the last week of July. My question is, can I raise an invoice for the 2 day work through my Limited Company? At the time the service was provided, the Limited Company did not exist. So is it legal to invoice the client through the Limited Company now that it exists?

Thanks for your inputs in advance.

Originally posted by Bruce Wayne View Post
    Hello Experts,

I work as a freelancer and use an Umbrella company for my accounting needs. Last week I have floated my own Limited Company and in the course of the next two months or so I wish to start working through my own Limited Company.

I did a 2 day freelancing work in middle of July. The Limited Company was formed only in the last week of July. My question is, can I raise an invoice for the 2 day work through my Limited Company? At the time the service was provided, the Limited Company did not exist. So is it legal to invoice the client through the Limited Company now that it exists?