• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contractor IR35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contractor IR35

Hi all, apologies as I know this has possibly been asked many times but here goes. I am a design engineer in the construction industry. It is common for people like myself to work either as employees or as contractors. I have always been permanent but have decided to go contract and have set up a limited company. I am completely new to all this and have an accountant.

I handed in my notice without any work lined up as I have a long notice period to negotiate. My employer use contractors all the time and asked me to stay on for a few months as a contractor. The contract and the working arrangements are undoubtedly outside IR35 but should I be particularly concerned about my own IR35 status under this arrangement, even if I'm only here for a short period?

Originally posted by ENG1 View Post
    Hi all, apologies as I know this has possibly been asked many times but here goes. I am a design engineer in the construction industry. It is common for people like myself to work either as employees or as contractors. I have always been permanent but have decided to go contract and have set up a limited company. I am completely new to all this and have an accountant.