PDA

View Full Version : Hanging up the stetson, stirrups and six-shooter

craig1
17th September 2014, 18:14
Well, that's it. After just nine months shy of two decades of being a contractor I've sold out and have accepted a permie job. Nearly my current contract rate (albeit now on PAYE), plus a great pension, plus 6 weeks of PAID HOLIDAYS. I may even take a day off sick and get paid! The thought of being able to go on holiday and still get paid AND still have a nearly guaranteed job when I get back almost brings a tear to these weary eyes.

A bit of reminiscing had me look back over my records:
- 26 separate contracts ranging from £180p/d to £2000 per day
- Averaging just over 9 months working a year, lowest was 2010 at 2 months (deliberate, due to my wife being ill) highest was 2011 where I had 2 working days off trying to rebuild the war-chest
- Most interesting contract was at a company doing a 4 way simultaneous merger
- Most horrendous contract was demerging a major spin-off from a FTSE100 client
- Biggest temperature change in 24 hours: I went from Melbourne where it was registering over 30C to Calgary where it was under -20C. Over 50 degrees Celsius change in 24 hours.
- Biggest expense claim: £28,000. My fault for not reading the contract's fine print that expenses were only claimable on full delivery.
- Smallest expense claim: 56p for a recorded delivery receipt just to prove a point. I think it was 56p anyway, can't find that invoice but I know it was around that and it was paid.

So, that's it. A bit sad in some ways but I think it was time to get out and actually onto the permie career ladder at a fairly senior management position while it was being offered.

It feels like someone has finally given the Littlest Hobo a home.

mudskipper
17th September 2014, 18:29
Well done that man.

(I once submitted a (permie) expenses claim for the public toilet at Waterloo - 20p at the time)

EternalOptimist
17th September 2014, 18:30
good one Craig.