• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving to Middle East

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving to Middle East

Hi all,

I am new to this forum and this question may already been answered, so please excuse me.

I have been a contractor for the last five years and I am on a pretty good rate.

Now I have been given an opportunity by one of my previous managers to work with him in the Middle East (where he is moving to). The rates aren't good as in the UK, but its tax free.

I need some advise, is there anything in particular I need to keep in mind, i.e.

Keep my limited company afloat (even though I won't be invoicing through it)
    Do I have to pay income tax here in the UK (I will have some ties at-least for one year).
    Any other issues around taxation?

Thanks in advance.
    Yenkay

If you have ties here you will pay tax here.

If you are not a BC and are on ILR you will lose it after 2 years absence....

Comment

Alas there is no such thing as "tax free". At best it means there is no tax deduction at source and no liability in the host country.

There will be a number of ifs and buts around UK tax, and you need to take personalised advice from your accountant.

If you are away from the uk long enough, and cut enough ties, it will be uk tax free, if you don't, it won't.