• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Getting into contracting whilst in a permenant job.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting into contracting whilst in a permenant job.

Hi all,

I'm looking to go into IT Contracting. I'm a SQL Server DBA.

The problem I have is my notice period in my current permanent position.

It's 6 weeks, which scares of any recruiter.

Generally I've seen that for most contract positions they want you to start as soon as possible - 1-2 weeks usually.

My plan is to leave my current job (it's a bad environment and has no future prospects).

I will land another permanent position in a better company and during the first 3 months (probabtion period) I will only have to provide a one week notice.

I know it's not the most moral thing to do but has anyone ever done something similar. Will it be possible to get a contract whilst in my probation period or will recruiters avoid someone who is using these tactics?

Or do you have any other advice for me?

Thanks

Do you like bleeding radiators?

Do you like films about gladiators?

Answer the two questions above then we may be able to help you.

Alternatively have a look at the professional forums for answers to your questions using the search facility or searching using google. If you can't find the answer to your questions then post them there.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

well my first contract waited 5 weeks for me.

you can of course negotiate shorter notice periods if you ask nicely.