• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Danish Contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Danish Contract

Hi,
    I'm currently in the process of negotiating a contract in Denmark. I have read all the info on the Danish tax system, which is slightly concerning.

But my question is if I am a UK resident and the company I am working through (agency) is not charging a Danish based company will I have to pay any Danish taxes at all?

Thanks in advance
    Last edited by MA1; 14 September 2006, 11:31.

Does this mean that you will be billing a UK-based client? If so, you should have nothing to be worried about. Under no account allow yourself to be classed as resident in DK or allow yourself to be billing a DK company and/or get paid in krone. The tax authorities there will then try to invoke their regime under EU reciprocal taxation arrangements.

I used to work in DK (albeit under permie Ts&Cs), and the tax structure is frightening. A salary above £45K UK equivalent attracted 52% tax in 2003, and this was on the full slice. Also, the tax authorities have a nasty way of reaching out into offshore assets.

The Danes have a saying, which loosely goes: “If you kill your wife, chop her up into bits and dissolve her in acid, you may get off with a warning. But if you cheat on your taxes…”
    "My God, it's huge!!"

Comment

Hi,

Thanks for your response and advice. greatly appreciated. i will make sure all those requirements are met before proceeding.