• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting with ex-employee - IR35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting with ex-employee - IR35

Hi,

Please accept my apologies if this question has been beaten to death, I understand that each circumstance could be treated different and hence my query.

I work in the IT sector as a developer pretty new to contracting, my first contract(6 months + 2 months extension) is just about to complete earlier to which I was working as permanent employee with a company for 8 years (due to downsizing I was made redundant). I still feel that I tend to think like a permie and not a contractor, I know its a mind set and I have a lot to learn

My ex boss has approached me with an offer to go in as a contractor as he is bidding for a funding and wants me to help manage and deliver the project, I am paranoid that if take this contact and provide the service I will be inviting IR35.

I have been looking for roles, probably its the time of the year when jobs are hard to come for my skills! So whilst its tempting to take up the offer I dont want to lose my sleep over IR35. If I could I would like to avoid it.

I spoke to a very helpful lady in QDOS who mentioned that as I was made redundant and then I took up a contract with another client it would help but still there is a chance for investigation and suggested that I go for an insurance cover and proper review of my contract before I start the role.