• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Starting an IT Consultancy

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting an IT Consultancy

Hi there

I am an IT contractor but am interested in exploring the idea of starting my own IT consultancy business. I know naff all about this (not a great start eh?) but am keen to find out more about how to go about it and wondered if anyone had any advice/info?

I'm not interested in taking on permanent staff, etc, I just want to place other contractors in to specific roles within my area of expertise, a bit like a pimp I guess!

I have plenty of contacts re the people that I would place in to roles and have some good relationships with business where I could place them, but don't know what other things I need to consider? Anyone else do/done this type of thing before?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Let me know if you need a couple of references and my day rate?

Comment

Originally posted by nikos101 View Post
      Hi there

I am an IT contractor but am interested in exploring the idea of starting my own IT consultancy business. I know naff all about this (not a great start eh?) but am keen to find out more about how to go about it and wondered if anyone had any advice/info?

I'm not interested in taking on permanent staff, etc, I just want to place other contractors in to specific roles within my area of expertise, a bit like a pimp I guess!