• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Monday Links from the Sheriff's Lair vol. CCLXVIII

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Monday Links from the Sheriff's Lair vol. CCLXVIII

Posting this from my shiny new iPhone 6
    • Chat Wars - David Auerbach on his involvement in a piece of Internet history: ”In the summer of 1998 I graduated from college and went to work as a programmer at Microsoft in Redmond, Washington. I was put on the group that was building MSN Messenger Service, Microsoft’s instant messaging app… AOL had the largest user base, so we discussed the possibility of adding code to allow Messenger to log in to two servers simultaneously, Microsoft’s and AOL’s, so that you could see your Messenger and AIM buddies on a single list and talk to AIM buddies via Messenger.” And AOL got rather annoyed at Microsoft’s chat client using their protocol, and so a ridiculous war broke out.

• Microsoft BASIC for 6502 Original Source Code [1978] - From an earlier period in Microsoft’s history: ”This is the original 1978 source code of Microsoft BASIC for 6502 with all original comments, documentation and easter eggs.”