• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How do I become a team leader

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I become a team leader

I currently contract as a senior developer. I would like to get into team leading. I have no experience in this yet but I would like to move away from the technical stuff and focus on more organisation and people.

Is it possible to do this as a contractor or do I have to be perm and aim to get promoted to this role?

Gareth Keenan is your man..

Comment

Originally posted by stek View Post
      Gareth Keenan is your man..
      I've no interest in being assistant to a regional manager.

Comment

Originally posted by heyya99 View Post
        I would like to move away from the technical stuff and focus on more organisation and people.
        Buy some personality and chutzpah in a 2 for 1 deal?

Comment

or do I have to be perm and aim to get promoted to this role?
          ^^This
          As a contractor you know a certain trick for which people want to hire you. If you want to learn a new trick you have to return to permiedom and hope someone will promote you

Comment

Originally posted by Eirikur View Post
            ^^This
            As a contractor you know a certain trick for which people want to hire you. If you want to learn a new trick you have to return to permiedom and hope someone will promote you