• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Getting a contract in the banking world

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting a contract in the banking world

I've been contracting as a project manager for almost 3 years. The majority of my work has been digital project such as ios/android app and web builds, but I have a background in IT so quite enjoy interating with big ole horrible backend systems.

I generally get rates in the region of £450-£500 which is quite good for digital work.

Now I want to dip my toes in the finance water and go for the big rates. But the problem is that I have no experience.

Speaking to my mates in FS it's clear that the industry is full of useless lazy muppets () and I expect I'd be doing a better job than them within a couple of weeks. But no experience is, as we know, a big blocker.

So, does anyone have any bright ideas or suggestions on how I might get into the industry without any noticing that I've got no background in it?

Untouchable1

p.s. if 10% of the responses have some value I'll be happy! There is plenty of scope for pisstaking in this thread...

Originally posted by Untouchable1 View Post
    I've been contracting as a project manager for almost 3 years. The majority of my work has been digital project such as ios/android app and web builds, but I have a background in IT so quite enjoy interating with big ole horrible backend systems.

I generally get rates in the region of £450-£500 which is quite good for digital work.