• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Company Pension Contributions - Not 100% Guaranteed to be tax deductible?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Company Pension Contributions - Not 100% Guaranteed to be tax deductible?

I've been making contributions through my Ltd since 2008 after taking advice on tax efficient ways of using the money in my Ltd.

Just made last year's contribution on March 31st & got a letter back from the firm who I've been with (Wealth Matters) stating the following:

For deductibility to be allowed the contribution has to be made wholly and exclusively for the benefit of the trade. This condition is invariably satisfied if the contribution is made on behalf of an individual who is solely an employee of the firm. With the owner, HMRC may take the view that the contribution has some personal interest. Fortunately, there is HMRC guidance on how it is to interpret the rule in the Business Income Manual at BIM46035 and BIM 47105. These guidelines tend to indicate that where the employee is a controlling director, HMRC are likely to allow the contribution to be tax deductible.

It is up to the local inspector to decide whether to refer upwards in HMRC but it is hoped that the pension contribution will be deductible. However, no guarantees can be given.

I always thought these contributions were 100% tax deductible. No ifs no buts - so what has changed? Any cause for concern?