• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Initial question about daily rate

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Initial question about daily rate

Hi there,

sorry if my question if well known, I'm quite new to contracting and not yet fully aware of negotiation. Recently an agent called me out of the blue to discuss my profile, during the conversation he asks me about the rate I'm looking for and I gave him a top-end bracket, let's say 550 to 600 per day. Then the guy sends me a job spec that says 650. What happens now? Should I still try for the top rate, or stick to what I believe I'm "worth" (very subjective I know). Is the agent going to "forget" what I said? Should I have tried to elude the question altogether, but I guess the agent still needs an idea of where you're at?

Thanks for the insight,
    Chris

Contrary to popular belief - not every agent is there to stiff you over the day rate, especially if they're on a fixed margin (I.e., they get an extra x percent of the rate in commission) where it's in their interest to get you more.

While its not always great, a lot will use your initial figure to gauge your skill and seniority level - he's not going to waste time on 650p/d job with a 150p/d contractor.

If the job says 650 then he's made the first move, really, and that's the rate you should be working towards.

FWIW, I always qualify my day rate by saying 'depending on the role and location'. It should go without saying, but it just makes it easier to say 'Sorry, I'm not doing this role at x rate'

Comment