• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cloud Accountancy Systems

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cloud Accountancy Systems

I'm new to contracting, just recently started a small contract through a Ltd company.

I use Nixon Williams as my accountant. They have an online system which I use for tracking my business. However I am concerned that if I leave them, I don't know if I could take my data with me.

Is it worth setting up another cloud based system, as well as Nixon Williams?

What do you all do?

I can't say for sure but imagine they have a way of downloading a backup for you in an excel or similar format as most of the cloud solutions have this capability.

I believe there software is created in house, however Craig who posts on here often can confirm for you.

Comment

My ltd does most of its own accounting - no fangled cloud software around here. I get the old school accountant to do the annual accounts and my personal tax return once a year and that's about it.

I don't think I would particularly benefit at all from cloud accounting software at the moment. I might be mistaken, but last I heard, there aren't any cloud software packages that can prepare and submit annual accounts and tax returns yet. When that happens, I might take another look at it.

Comment

We do not currently have the facility for you to download your data – however if you did decide to move away from Nixon Williams then we would of course compile your data and send it to you or another accountant.