• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is it harder today to be a contractor than 10 years ago?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it harder today to be a contractor than 10 years ago?

Discuss...
    http://www.cih.org/news-article/disp...housing_market

10 years ago I was a permie, today I am a contractor.

So for me its a no
    Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy
    I can't see any way to do it can you please advise?

I want my account deleted and all of my information removed, I want to invoke my right to be forgotten.

Comment

Same here, just wonder if the glory days are over?
      http://www.cih.org/news-article/disp...housing_market

Comment

I've been a contractor for a lot more than the last 10 years, maybe it's my memory suffering from age, but I'd say it's no harder for me contracting now than 10 years back.

Mind you my skillset has changed with time and I was never a code monkey so I've never seen my function off shored.

Comment

10 years ago I was a contractor. Still a contractor.

For me, the admin side of things is little changed. But as for the actual work side of things, getting new contract roles now is much more difficult than it was 10 years ago... seems to be much less work out there in my field atm.

Comment

The Bob effect has certainly changed the Development/DBA/Testing/Support arena of contracting.