• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Any point in contracting after April 2016?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi All,

Just a quick question for people. The way things are going at the moment, is there going to be any point in contracting after April 2016?

I have been a contractor since 2010, and have managed to work in unbroken contract roles since that time so have been very lucky I suppose. However, I have also been very flexible on the location of the work as I have been able to claim expenses. Sometimes upto around £1500 per month including mileage and accomodation etc.

With the planned changed coming into force in April 2016 to do with expenses, and possibly also the addition that any contractor working via an agency (whether limited company or not) will be classed as inside IR35, will there be any point in continuing?

What do others think here? Are there any "legal" tax efficient ways of working as a contractor any more?

Just after a general consensus.

Everything is still up in the air.

If expenses get hammered you're looking at losing the tax benefit, so £300 a month on £1500. Assuming approx 22 days a month worked that's £13 a day. Stick your rate up by £15 a day.

If everyone ends up inside IR35 when going through agencies then that's a different kettle of fish. No point worrying though until it happens. If and when it does either the industry will change how it engages contractors or the rates will go up to compensate (mine will anyway...).