• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Has anyone been caught surfing the net at work?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Has anyone been caught surfing the net at work?

Here at my workplace, we have a system where, everytime you use Internet Explorer, you must enter your unique user id and password to access the net.

This is so that they can monitor internet usage on a per user basis. Obviously, being a contractor, I enjoy my time on the net and so am concerned about this!

Has anyone experienced any problems with their clients due to internet usage being monitored?

Is there a way around this?

Do they monitor where you go or just the time you are on? If they don't log sites, how can the differentiate between surfing and listening to music via an online radio station?

I made it into the top ten web users at one place - huge multinational and that was my argument as I tended to work with my earphones on, listening to yahoo radio.
    Rule Number 1 - Assuming that you have a valid contract in place always try to get your poo onto your timesheet, provided that the timesheet is valid for your current contract and covers the period of time that you are billing for.

I preferred version 1!

Comment

I've pretty much read the internet on every contract I've ever had.

Never been a problem.
      Cats are evil.

Comment

Originally posted by TonyEnglish