• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Leaving a contract partway through

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leaving a contract partway through

Im new to contracting and am halfway through my first 6 month contract. Client is happy and I expect a renewal but I dont think I want to stay on for another 6 months. Given this is my first contract I think it will look bad on my CV if I did not get a renewal. Any advise here? Should I just reject a renewal if I dont intend to stay on for the full term? Should I just suck it up as a newb and take the full renewal and see out the term. The latter option I guess will be the best play for my CV. Thoughts?

Not renewing is not the same as leaving a contract half way through.
    Maybe you meant 'leaving a job half done'
    (\__/)
    (>'.'<)
    ("")("") Born to Drink. Forced to Work

Comment

Originally posted by breaktwister View Post
      Im new to contracting and am halfway through my first 6 month contract. Client is happy and I expect a renewal but I dont think I want to stay on for another 6 months. Given this is my first contract I think it will look bad on my CV if I did not get a renewal. Any advise here? Should I just reject a renewal if I dont intend to stay on for the full term? Should I just suck it up as a newb and take the full renewal and see out the term. The latter option I guess will be the best play for my CV. Thoughts?
      I have several contracts that I didn't renew including my first which was 3 months. Why do you think not renewing will look bad?