• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Non payment clause by client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Non payment clause by client

Hi Forums,

This would be my second contract, but the first was very different. In the first I was a Sole Trader who invoiced the client company directly. My new position, should it work out, would be via an agency.

I read an excellent book on contracting over the weekend, and spoke to a friend. From these sources, I understood that my contract would be with the agency. I supply time sheets, and they pay me. Client non-payment to the agency would not be my concern. However, I notice a clause on the paperwork that if the agency is not paid, they won't pay me. Is this normal, or lawful in the UK?

Thanks,
    WaxLyrical!

Read up on Out in/out. There is a huge thread stickied about it. Also scroll back some of the posts in the last week or so as we had exactly this situation at least once and discussed it in great detail. That clause is standard but it's trumped by your out in/out status if you have got the right one. Could be too late if you have already been introduced though.

You won't be able to be a sole trader through and agent. You will need a limited company.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Thanks

Thanks, NorthernLadUK