• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

In the S**t .. retraining required..

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

In the S**t .. retraining required..

Hi All,

Ive been contracting now for 9 months (on the same contract) but the future aint bright ... well to be fair its B******s

I came to contracting after a period of redundancy (10 months to be exact) when it was pretty evident that my skills where no longer required within the industry. Ive 10 years experience in the industry, but tend to be a jack of all trades and master on none. I worked at my previous company for 8 years working my way up ... but with dated technology such as TCL etc - and doing full cycle work .. so development being just one part of the overall job.

Fortuantley a contract cropped up where they needed a product consultant in the product that I used to help develop .. very niche stuff .. i.e too niche.

So this contract is nearing an end and ive been trying to learn java etc etc .. but what do you folks think I should be spending my time getting to grips with (apart from the ladies ) ?

.NET seems popular etc .. is it worth paying the high fees for training courses - would that benefit.

And with all job adverts (permie jobs) wanting 2years+ experience .. am I simply wasting my time ?

Cheers for your opinions,

Jaro

You could diversify. If you use TCL (Well the Tk side), The Tk bit can be handy with Perl or Python. Not to mention if you develop on UNIX. Your UNIX knowledge is valuable.