• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

The creaking sounds of timbers, rope and spars

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The creaking sounds of timbers, rope and spars

You may not know this, but I am an ancient contractor. In my misspent youth I used to watch a program called 'the Onedin line' which was a 'poor boy made good in the age of sail' series.

Anyways, I always promised myself that one day I would sail around the world on a real sailboat, under wind power.
    I never got even close, but I am guessing that someone here has.

(the wide experience of CUKKERS, never ceases to amaze me)
    (\__/)
    (>'.'<)
    ("")("") Born to Drink. Forced to Work

I sailed a yacht from Italy to the former Yugoslavia once, with spaghetti on my lap.

Comment

Originally posted by minestrone View Post
      I sailed a yacht from Italy to the former Yugoslavia once, with spaghetti on my lap.
      yeah , yeah. and just where would you get spaghetti in Italy ?
      (\__/)
      (>'.'<)
      ("")("") Born to Drink. Forced to Work

Comment

Originally posted by EternalOptimist View Post
        yeah , yeah. and just where would you get spaghetti in Italy ?
        Fish 'n Chips takeaway's side order???

Comment

You may not know this, but I am an ancient contractor. In my misspent youth I used to watch a program called 'the Onedin line' which was a 'poor boy made good in the age of sail' series.

Anyways, I always promised myself that one day I would sail around the world on a real sailboat, under wind power.