• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Flight cost as an expense

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Flight cost as an expense

Hi all,

I'm an international contractor (from Greece) working on a contract and based in Manchester.
    While I was under an umbrella company, I could pass off as expenses the flight costs back and forth to my country of origin (up to 5/year I think).

Can I do this now that I have a limited company and pass this flights as expenses to the company?

Lastly, in case I can put these costs as expenses, what VAT should I use for this transaction?

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by apapadak; 27 October 2015, 08:57.

Originally posted by apapadak View Post
    Hi all,

I'm an international contractor (from Greece) working on a contract and based in Manchester.
    While I was under an umbrella company, I could pass off as expenses the flight costs back and forth to my country of origin (up to 5/year I think).

Can I do this now that I have a limited company and pass this flights as expenses to the company?

Thanks.
    Are they business flights or pleasure ? If you are just off to Greece to soak the sun and meet your friends I doubt HMRC would let you expense that.
    Vote Corbyn ! Save this country !

Comment

based in Manchester.
      Go for it. Everyone needs a holiday after all
      The Chunt of Chunts.

Comment

If the flights were allowable for the brolly, on the grounds that they're wholly and necessarily for the business, why should that change just because you're ltd?