• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working in conjunction with wife

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working in conjunction with wife

I'm sitting here mulling over options for post Autumn Statement/introduction of these proposed IR35 changes.

At present I am a Ltd company contractor. I split my dividend with my wife 50/50. She has recently started a business (8 months ish) and is working as a Sole Trader currently. Her turnover is increasing month on month. Our current projections are for her to hit roughly £40k turnover for the year. Her profit margins are around 35% of turnover (so we're not talking huge money but it's a good start, and still worthwhile receiving dividend income).

Anyway, it's been in my mind that it could be worthwhile incorporating her at some point in the future. Now I am thinking could I form a group of companies and could this potentially be a workaround for these changes? If her business was generating 25% - 30% of the groups total income, could that help do you think? Could I argue that the company's income isn't entirely earned by supplying personal services?

She's currently registered for VAT but her sales don't attract VAT so her returns are always nil, with a little claimed back on expenses. I'm on the flat rate scheme.

I'm going to run things through with my account after 25th but would be interested to hear anyone's thoughts - please point out any holes (or gaping chasms!) in my idea