• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Xmas present for geeky 13 yr old?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Xmas present for geeky 13 yr old?

I have a nephew, almost 13 and already studying at A level maths (ok not a prodigy but pretty clever). I think he has a raspberry pi. I was wondering if there are any useful other presents that that this group would recommend with a software development focus? Something interesting, useful, fun?

I'm a non-technical PM/business change manager. To give you an idea of how ignorant I am, in my first graduate job I was taught PL1 and I wrote some JCL and I was useless at it so I ran away to non-IT roles. I am clueless about what the current hot areas are. Any ideas? Where would you start?

Originally posted by Casablanca View Post
    I have a nephew, almost 13 and already studying at A level maths (ok not a prodigy but pretty clever). I think he has a raspberry pi. I was wondering if there are any useful other presents that that this group would recommend with a software development focus? Something interesting, useful, fun?

I'm a non-technical PM/business change manager. To give you an idea of how ignorant I am, in my first graduate job I was taught PL1 and I wrote some JCL and I was useless at it so I ran away to non-IT roles. I am clueless about what the current hot areas are. Any ideas? Where would you start?
    Buy him a 3d printer.

10 best 3D printers 2015 | TechRadar

Comment

What's your budget?

At that age, a year's subscription to Hustler.