PDA

View Full Version : Hays PSL (Preferred Suppliers List)

SniperIII
16th May 2005, 18:14
Firstly I would like to introduce who I am, and I make no secret of the fact that I am a director of Maxim Finance Ltd an umbrella company. We have been working with Hays for over two years and only since January this year, have come up against an issue that I would welcome both positive and where appropriate negative views.

It has come to our attention that contractors working with Hays are being told they no longer have a free choice of which umbrella company they are able to use, instead they are being told that they must select a provider on their PSL.

This is causing some angst within the contractor community, As a contractor myself I think that contractors by their very nature take the contracting route as a personal choice and feedback from a number of contractors, is they are not happy to be restrained in this way. The principle objections from contractors appear to be based on cost/value for money and their views on the less than acceptable service levels provided by imposed providers.

Whilst I appreciate some may see this as a way to promote our company, this is not its intended purpose. I have been a member of this community since 2003, and you will notice that I have not posted here in the past.

This post is to garner opinion, to see if this type of behaviour is generally acceptable within the community.
To ask whether this is an appropriate vehicle to discuss this issue.
To see if there is support from others to get this type of practice changed.

rebekkaloos
17th May 2005, 09:29
well I don't work with Hayes but if I was and they were trying to tell me which umbrella company to use, I wouldn't be impressed.

For a start, what makes them think you want to use an umbrella company full-stop? What if you have your own LTD?

ASB
17th May 2005, 09:31
Firstly I have never used hays, an umbrella, or yourself.

But, with my devils advocate hat on....