• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor - 2 + years? Holiday entitlement?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor - 2 + years? Holiday entitlement?

Hi all,

I was hoping for some advise.

I am employed by an umbrella company and i have been working on the same contract for 2 years (on going extension every 6 months).

As everyone is aware, i cant claim my expenses (mileage and sustenance as i am still at the same location).

However i have a question related to holiday entitlement. As i have been working on the same contract for 2 years can i have the same benefits in terms of holidays as permanent staff? Currently i dont get paid for any holidays i take (including bank holidays/Christmas period etc)

When my contract was up for re-newel i handed in my 1 weeks notice as financially it wasn't worth working at the location as i wasn't able to mileage etc . They offered to increase my salary to compensate for the tax increase which i agreed to . 1 of the consultants who also works as a contractor advised me to speak to them regarding holiday entitlement as he said i may be in the position to get paid for my holidays.

Any advise would be great!

I hope you had a Merry Christmas and i hope you have a happy new year!!

If you can get the end client to pay you for a certain number of days a year when you're not working for them, then great. I don't really understand why you are asking the question?