• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Skills Assessment for working in Australia - Claimable Expense?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Skills Assessment for working in Australia - Claimable Expense?

Hey guys, hope I have posted this in the right place. I have a quick question regarding expenses. I am a self-employed healthcare professional currently working in the UK. Due to salary capping and because of funding issues within the NHS there is a dip in the market at the moment. I have decided not to limit work to the UK and currently in the process of having a skills assessment for working in Australia. My question is can I claim these application fees as expenses? The advise from my accountant is no as I would gain a personal benefit from it. I am a looking for a second opinion here.

Originally posted by Givemepatience View Post
    Hey guys, hope I have posted this in the right place. I have a quick question regarding expenses. I am a self-employed healthcare professional currently working in the UK. Due to salary capping and because of funding issues within the NHS there is a dip in the market at the moment. I have decided not to limit work to the UK and currently in the process of having a skills assessment for working in Australia. My question is can I claim these application fees as expenses? The advise from my accountant is no as I would gain a personal benefit from it. I am a looking for a second opinion here.
    Yes* you can claim them
    Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy