• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Pensions - How to pick one

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pensions - How to pick one

I am a contractor with a limited company and I plan to open up a pension.

I am aware of the reasons why so am good on that front. Just need to make the tricky choice of picking one.

Suggestions welcome.

thanks

Originally posted by andythesailor View Post
    I am a contractor with a limited company and I plan to open up a pension.

I am aware of the reasons why so am good on that front. Just need to make the tricky choice of picking one.

Suggestions welcome.

thanks
    Media reports suggest that our beloved chancellor is going to make the concept of saving for pensions obsolete in March, so your choice will be irrelevant.
    Taking a break from contracting

Comment

Graph going up - Buy!!!
      Graph going down - Buy!!

Thanks
      Dim Prawn.
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Most people go for a SIPP. I'm with Hargreaves Lansdowne who do off the shelf portfolios if you want to keep it simple. Their website is great for advice and information, but they're possibly not the cheapest provider. If you're an IPSE member, they've negotiated preferential rates for members with Aegon, so might be worth checking out.

Comment

First year in a private pension pot (well, through my company) after I moved over my perm one when they realised I couldn't stay in it a while ago.

It's gone down in value.

Comment