• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Adding Share Class to a Limited Company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adding Share Class to a Limited Company

Hi There, I have been running a limited co for three years with myself as sole director and employee with 1 Ordinary Class share. My partner has now started contracting as well (non married, different surnames) and is contracting under the same limited company. I want to include them as and employee and a shareholder so that they can also take a salary and dividends. The idea (from my accountant) seems to be that his shares would be a different class to the ones currently in issue (my 1 ordinary) so that we could take different levels of dividends based on our individual requirements. I am just submitting my Companies House Annual Web Filing, and it seems to offer me the chance to add share classes. So my questions are:

Would this be a good way to do the company restructure (rather than paying my accountant the £250 plus VAT he wants ....)?

Is there a better way or time to do this?

What 2 different classes of shares should I use?

Do I leave me as "Ordinary" and add them as one of the other options (Preference, Deferred Ordinary, Deferred, Redeemable, Redeemable Preference, A Ordinary, B Ordinary, C Ordinary) or do I need to change myself to some sort of superior class and put them as Ordinary (I wish to remain in overall control of the company and majority shareholder)? What about number of shares?