• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contractor questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contractor questions

Hi folks,

Been reading through several pages of topics on umbrella/LTD and I'm still not sure of best way to go in my circumstances.

In a nutshell I am new to IT contracting in the UK (UK citizen been resident OS for several years).

I've been offered an IT contract position, which should last for at least 6 months. Pretty sure I will fall under IR35.

I plan on being back in the UK for 2-3 years max before heading off again.

Umbrella looks to be the easiest option for me, but I'm not certain.

A big factor is my wife is a qualified accountant (Non-UK, moved on to other things but skills are there), I'm thinking if this changes my situation vis a vis LTD or Umbrella, and if so could anyone recommend good websites/books/other material for us to research?

I don't really understand the implications of this new IR591 so any advice there is appreciated.

Also any umbrellas companies to definitely avoid? Orange genie seems to get consistently good comments, any others which rate highly?

Many thanks for any advice you can give, apologies for being the umpteenth poster asking.

> I don't really understand the implications of this new IR591
    nobody does - the details have not been announced.

If your wife is a qualified accountant why are you asking us monkies?